• John Macon Gillespie

What Makes Louis Paul Smith Elite

There’s a case to be made that Louis Paul Smith has been the state’s most dependable players dating back to the start of the 2015 season. That fall, as as freshman, he took over as the starting center for the D’Iberville Warriors, a spot he’s not since relinquished. As he’s set to begin his senior campaign in just a few weeks, very few players can boast as much experience or success.

Smith has helped lead a dynamic rushing attack each of the previous three seasons, all in which ended with the Warriors in the playoffs. Over the past three years D’Iberville has rushed for 251, 264 and 255 yards per game, respectively. In 2015 it was legendary head coach Buddy Singleton, but Eric Collins brought in his own high-powered rushing attack starting in 2016. Through that change Smith was steady in his leadership and improvement.

Certain characteristics have allowed Smith to excel since he first stepped onto the field. He is a relentless competitor who never backs down from a challenge. He loves to take on big-time d-linemen both on Friday nights and on the camp circuit. It’s rare someone lines up in front of him that he cant hold his own against. Furthermore, Smith is gritty and tough. During his career he’s set the tone for his team’s offensive physicality and played through numerous situations where he was battling pain. And perhaps most to Smith’s credit is his ability to take coaching and improve. He listens to coaching, in fact he seeks it out, and he works long and hard to install those improvements.

It’s fitting, based on the leader Smith has developed into for D’Iberville over the course of his career, that he is the first ever Warrior to be named to the Elite 10. And with that, he shuts the door on the impressive and historic 2018 E10 class.

2018 Elite 10

#1 - Jerrion Ealy | Jackson Prep

#2 - Brandon Turnage | Lafayette

#3 - John Rhys Plumlee | Oak Grove

#4 - Rodrigues Clark | Starkville

#5 - KJ Jefferson | North Panola

#6 - Nakobe Dean | Horn Lake

#7 - Kyziah Pruitt | Noxubee County

#8 - Dannis Jackson | Sumrall

#9 - Diwun Black | Forest

#10 - Louis Paul Smith | D'Iberville

#JohnLukeMcCord #Elite10 #DIberville

Southern Elite Sports
Southern Elite Sports
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon


Follow us


Become a Fan

Follow us




© 2018 by Southern Elite Sports Media L.L.C.